Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
News & Press: APCO Canada

APCO Canada Announces Board Appointment

Tuesday, March 26, 2019  
Share |

(OTTAWA - March 26) - The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) Canada, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the enhancement of public safety communications, is pleased to announce that Theresa Virgin has been appointed to its board of directors, effective March 27, 2019. Ms. Virgin replaces Ryan Lawson who resigned in 2018, to focus on personal commitments.

"I am delighted to welcome Theresa to our board," said Cindy Sparrow, board president for APCO Canada. "As a previous board president, I am confident that Theresa will bring valuable insight to help advance APCO Canada's mission. Her leadership and expertise will complement our already well-qualified board."

Theresa started her career in 1975 with Peel Regional Police as a records clerk. In 1976 she was selected as one of a group of the first civilian dispatchers for Peel Regional Police. In 1980, left Peel Regional Police and joined Durham Regional Police as a dispatcher. In 1989 was awarded the position of Supervisor in Communications. In 1994, was selected to be the first civilian Manager of Durham Regional Police Communications Centre and 9-1-1 Manager.

In 2004, due to a reconfiguration of Senior Management, took on the title and position of Communications/9-1-1 Technical Services Manager. She has completed a Masters Certificate in Regional Management from U.O.I.T. graduating in 2005 and has been a certified APCO trainer since 2004.  Theresa served on the Board of Directors for APCO Canada between 2009 and 2016 as director, Vice-President, President and Past President. 

In 2016 Theresa was awarded the position of Adjunct Instructor for the APCO Institute of APCO International—the 2nd Canadian to achieve this position. She is retired from 36 years of policing.  Theresa has long been an advocate for communicators and communications training and has been an active member of APCO since 1994.